Ohio Supreme Court Swearing-In Ceremonies.

The Ohio Supreme Court announced the following schedule of swearing-in ceremonies:

  • Justice-elect Sharon L. Kennedy’s ceremony will be December 7 at 1:30 p.m. in the Supreme Court courtroom at the Thomas J. Moyer Ohio Judicial Center in Columbus.
  • Justice-elect William M. O’Neill’s ceremony will be December 27 at 7 p.m. at the Eighth District Court of Appeals in Cleveland. This term begins Jan.2, 2013.
  • Justice Terrence O’Donnell’s ceremony will be January 10 at 1:30 p.m. in the Supreme Court courtroom at the Moyer Judicial Center. His new term begins Jan. 1, 2013.

In case you are wondering why Justice-elect Kennedy’s ceremony is so much earlier than the others, it is because Justice McGee Brown’s term ends sooner than the others.  Because she was originally appointed to her seat, and lost, her term ends as soon as the election results are certified. 

And speaking of appointments, there could be a fourth swearing-in ceremony.  Gov. Kasich must appoint someone to fill the unexpired term of Justice Stratton, who is leaving at the end of the year.  That announcement could come at any time.


This entry was posted in Judiciary, Ohio Supreme Court Watch. Bookmark the permalink.